Category Archives: Divus Julius presents…

Divus Julius presents: Husbands

Husbands is a band that has been apart as much as it has been together. Danny and Wil got their start in OKC, releasing 23 home-recorded lofi beach pop singles in one year. Wil moved to work on a grad degree in Washington, DC and Danny worked as a computer engineer in Oklahoma City. In 2015, they released their first LP, Golden Year; a sunny, reverb-drenched collection of beach punk accompanied by Brian Wilson-esque melodies.

Their second album adds no-wave, garage punk, and a little tropicália into the Husbands blend. Last year they shared their third album Full-On Monet.

Divus Julius presents: Band of Horses

Seattle’s Band of Horses have become one of indie rock’s most consistent acts since their inception almost 20 years ago. Band of Horses’ sixth album unexpectedly delivers on all the qualities that defined their initial success: soaring emotions, crunchy guitars, and Ben Bridwell’s cotton-candy whine.

The album arrives five years after Tyler Ramsey and Bill Reynolds announced their departures from the band, with Matt Gentling and Ian MacDougal taking their places. The album has been described in press materials as “a return to their earlier work and the kind of raw ethos that lies at the heart of Band of Horses.

Divus Julius presents: ODESZA

Harrison Mills (a.k.a. Catacombkid) and Clayton Knight (a.k.a. BeachesBeaches) are the members of ODESZA, an American electronic duo. They began collaborating on music in college for fun, but their debut album Summer’s Gone quickly gained traction in the underground electronic music scene. A Moment Apart, their third studio album, was released in 2017 and debuted at No. 1 on the Billboard 200 chart. 

ODESZA continues to heal the world with their highly anticipated return. Since the release of their newest single, “The Last Goodbye,” featuring the legendary Bettye LaVette, fans have been chomping at the bit for the album. But, for now, ODESZA is keeping us occupied by releasing the official music video for the new tune.

Divus Julius presents: Puppy

British rock hasn’t had a prospect like Puppy for a while: a young(ish), heavy(ish), accessible band who could break out of metal’s bubble.  The band formed in 2015 when schoolfriends Jock Norton (vocals, guitar) and Billy Howard (drums) met bass player Will Michael while working in a London bar. Now Ahead of the release of their second album ‘Pure Evil’ on 6th May, Puppy are sharing their latest single ‘Shame’.

Divus Julius presents: Röyksopp

The long-running Norwegian electronic duo Röyksopp released The Inevitable End, their last album, way back in 2014, and they announced that LP as their “goodbye to the traditional album format.” For years afterwards, Röyksopp didn’t release anything. Recently, though, the duo announced the impending release of Profound Mysteries, a new collection of 10 songs that, per a press release is not an album but rather “an expanded creative universe and a prodigious conceptual project.”

Divus Julius presents:Trentemøller

Anders Trentemøller´s talent for melodic moments and exceptional productions, fused with his trademark sound between indie and electronic, has established him as one of the most respected and admired artists and remixers. With ‘Fixion’ he crafted a logical successor to ‘Lost’ – a record that managed to truly capture the visceral live experience of Trentemøller as a full-band. The Danish composer, musician and producer has released his new studio album ‘Memoria’