Tag Archives: FKA Twigs

The muses of La Musa: FKA twigs

Tahliah Debrett Barnett, known professionally as FKA twigs, is an English singer-songwriter, record producer, dancer, video director and actress. She entered the pop-industrial complex as a backup dancer in music videos, a career of appearances that led to the development of a character. Alluring and nymph-like in nature, FKA twigs’ avatar sang songs of yearning — operatic elegies about giving and taking, how quests for power destroy relationships and interrupt intimacy.

With a duo of EPs and her cult favorite debut album LP1, FKA twigs made a name for herself on a meta image that toyed with the gaze of whoever looked upon her.

On her new album CAPRISONGS, FKA twigs finally lifts the veil. Once an aloof video girl; baroque lounge crooner; sword master; pole dancer; and wushu artist, FKA twigs chaotically layers her previous personas on top of one another to reveal Tahliah Barnett, messy but free. Ranging from eerie ballads to sweaty club bangers, each track speaks to the highest expressions of her Capricorn sun, Sagittarius moon and Pisces Venus.

Hit of The Week: FKA twigs feat. Central Cee “Measure of a Man”

FKA twigs and Central Cee have shared “Measure of a Man,” a track teased by twigs in an Instagram post last week. It will appear on the soundtrack of The King’s Man, the third instalment (and prequel) of the British-American action-comedy series Kingsman, coming to theaters December 22.

Ville à Dômat #264: ‘Euphoric Ennui’

Benvinguts el no-res eufòric! Un dijous més omplim de música les nits dels dijous. Divus Julius tria, una setmana més, aquelles cançons sortides del forn que no sentireu enlloc més. Escoltarem el retorn d’un dels grups estendards del chill out: Zero 7 i també dels Best Coast. A més punxarem el més nou de FKA Twigs, Cocorosie, Villagers i Alexandra Savior i introduirem a nous artistes com Joesef, Talk Show o The Mysterines.

Dijous/Thursdays  22h/10PM 100.5FM ràdio Ciutat Vella

Ville à Dômat: Euphoric Ennui

Ville à Dômat #250: ‘Restricted Area’

Et portem les millors playlists musicals del moment. Tenim prepart per vosaltres el més bonic soroll per les vostres orelles. Divus Julius ha seleccionat per aquesta setmana el més nou de: Sleater-Kinney, The Chemical Brothers, Hatchie, Spector o Editors. Us presentem a The Mauskovic Dance Band i Childare, i també al nou rei del rap català: Lildami.

Dijous 22h a 23h 100.5FM Radio Ciutat Vella
Dissabte 13h a 14h.
Ville à Dômat: Restricted Area

Primavera Sound 2019

The wildly popular Primavera Sound festival has announced the artists who will take to the stages in its 2019 edition, which will be held at the Parc del Fòrum in Barcelona from Friday, May 30 to Saturday, June 1. This year, half of the artists on the line-up are women, bringing more equality and just as much brilliance to the festival.

Rosalía, Solange, Janelle Monáe, Erykah Badu, Robyn and Miley Cyrus are tops among the list of women performing that also includes highlights like FKA Twigs, Carly Rae Jepsen and Courtney Barnet, plus stellar male artists such as Tame Impala, J Balvin, Future, James Blake and Kurt Vile & The Violators.

Key players who hit it big in the ’90s feature as usual, including Jarvis Cocker, Suede, Stereolab, Nas, Neneh Cherry, Róisín Murphy, Primal Scream, Guided by Voices, Built to Spill, Stephen Malkmus and Liz Phair, who also make room for new sensations of urban music and contemporary pop like Kate Tempest, Princess Nokia, Yung Beef, Empress Of, Charli XCX and Kali Uchis.

The eclectic line-up spans EBM from veterans Nitzer Ebb to alternative rock from Dirty Projectors, plus avant-garde pop from Julia Holter, club pop from Jungle, urban soul from Nathy Peluso, a load of reggaeton artists (Ivy Queen, DJ Playero, Japanese, Don Chezina, Hurricane G, Tony Touch) and much more.

As for electronic music, look out for Richie Hawtin, Nina Kraviz, Modeselektor, Helena Hauff, Objekt, Veronica Vasicka, Yves Tumor, Apparat, Suzanne Ciani, SOPHIE and Mykki Blanco, as well as artists in Primavera Bits, a festival within the festival on the other side of the Por Fòrum bridge.

Hit of the week: FKA twigs “Cellophane”

FKA twigs has returned with her first new song in over three years, “Cellophane.” The song comes with a breathless, ethereal new video directed by frequent Björk collaborator Andrew Thomas Huang.

“Cellophane” is one of FKA twigs’ most personal tracks to date, dealing with a period in her life when she felt she had to rebuild herself from scratch.

The stunning video accompanying the track finds twigs pole-dancing, falling through space and eventually being buried in pink mud. She trained for months in advance with pole choreographer Kelly Yvonne to learn the impressive acrobatics she performs in the video.

Music by Bergman: Wild Palms

Southgate boys Lou Hill, Gareth Jones and James Parish grew up together and formed an early incarnation of the band, Lou then met Darrell Hawkins whilst studying at Brighton University and completed the line-up. Academic duties fulfilled they all moved back to north London en masse and set about recording their acclaimed, post-punk leaning debut Until Spring.

After its release the band experimented with additional members, contributors and different set ups. After spending a good year developing a sound in this manner, the songs and music that were produced over this period of time were deemed not up to scratch and scrapped. What they had created just wasn’t right. The four men decided that they would record the record themselves to have as little outside influence as possible in order to create as true a reflection of their ideas as possible. They locked themselves away again and fused inspiration from the psych sounds of Silver Apples, the industrial shimmer of Portishead, the leftfield soul-infused hip hop of Madlib and Doom’s Madvillain project, DJ Shadow.

Five years later, Wild Palms return with the first taste of what’s to come with two new singles – Temper Gold and Ennio – both produced by Liam Howe (Lana Del Rey, FKA Twigs). Temper Gold will be released through One Little Indian Records on March 4th 2016.

Wild Palms are: Lou Hill (vocals), Darrell Hawkins (guitar), Gareth Jones (bass) and James Parish (drums).