Tag Archives: indie

Introducing…The Ramona Flowers

Formed in 2012, The Ramona Flowers is a sensation gaining fans globally included the legendary artist U2. Their talents have taken them to memorable adventures like performing at the Glastonbury Festival 2017, and at the Fuji Rock Festival in Japan in the same year. Their electrifying music video of “Ghost” landed over 1mil views on Youtube alone. Their success has been on a sky-rise high since their debut.

The Ramona Flowers are back with the announcement of their upcoming EP, Hey You, out May 4 via Distiller Records.

Hit of The Week: Ben Gregory ‘blue sea blue’

With his highly-anticipated debut solo album arriving in the coming months, former Blaenavon vocalist Ben Gregory has now dropped the next cut to be lifted from his forthcoming full-length.

The new single ‘blue sea blue’ comes accompanied by a brilliant new video, directed by Natàlia Pagès, and follows on from the previously shared tracks ‘manifest*’ and ‘deathbed hangover’ in previewing his first LP ‘Episode’, which is out on the 7th April via Transgressive Records.

Introducing…Sorry Girls

Sorry Girls have danced out of the darkness into the light. Since forming in 2015, the Montreal duo of Heather Foster Kirkpatrick and Dylan Konrad Obront have transformed an eerie, dreamlike sound into lush, pleasure seeking pop. Expanding upon their debut album, Deborah, the band’s deftly arranged sophomore LP Bravo! sings to the back rows of the stadium, drawing listeners inward with a newfound focus on personal lyric.

Sorry Girls will release their new album Bravo! on June 2 via Arbutus Records. Now they are sharing their new single and video ‘Prettier Things’.

Divus Julius presents: Tiny Ruins

Tiny Ruins, the project of New Zealand singer-songwriter Hollie Fullbrook, have announced their fourth LP, Ceremony. The follow-up to 2019’s Olympic Girls is set to arrive on April 28 via Marathon Artists. The announcement comes with the release of the new single ‘Dorothy Bay’, which follows lead offering ‘The Crab / Waterbaby’.

The muses of La Musa: Princess Chelsea

Princess Chelsea is the recording project of New Zealand based producer Chelsea Nikkel. A classically trained pianist. Princess Chelsea AKA Chelsea Nikkel is a Auckland-based musician and songwriter with a cult-like status in many corners of the world. Her full-length debut as Princess Chelsea, Lil’ Golden Book, was released in late 2011 and first set the template of her music with its sweet melodies, baroque musical arrangements, childlike vocal delivery, and lyrics filled with cynical wit. 

Next up was a synth-heavy concept album about a future world rendered helpless in the face of depression brought on by technology. The Great Cybernetic Depression was released in June 2015. Her newest album is ” Everything Is Going To Be Alright

Hit of The Week: Girl Ray “Everybody’s Saying That.”

The last LP from Girl Ray — one of the Best New Bands Of 2017 — was 2019’s Girl. We haven’t heard much from the London trio since then besides the one-off “Give Me Your Love” and a cover of “Murder On The Dancefloor.” Now, Girl Ray are sharing their first new music since 2021 — quite exciting — in the form of an inspired-disco song called “Everybody’s Saying That.”