Category Archives: Divus Julius presents…

Divus Julius presents: Rostam

 Rostam is the solo moniker of multi-instrumentalist/producer Rostam Batmanglij, who balances experimental sounds and heartfelt intimacy in all the music he makes. He first earned acclaim as a member of Vampire Weekend, whose chart-topping and Grammy nominated 2010 album Contra he produced. Batmanglij soon became an in-demand producer and collaborator,

Rostam has recently shared a video for his new track “These Kids We Knew,” which he wrote while “in a fever-dream state during the second week of March last year while [he] was recovering from COVID-19.”

Diuvus Julius presents: Citizen

Citizen have always eluded definition. The Toledo, Ohio-based three-piece have been making dynamic, wide-ranging guitar music for over ten years, challenging expectations with each new album and refusing to fit neatly in a box.

The rock powerhouse Citizen recently announced their upcoming fourth full-length Life In Your Glass World, due out March 26th via Run For Cover Records. Today the band are sharing another early taste of the record with their new single “Blue Sunday.” 

Divus Julius presents: Whispering Sons

Whispering Sons is a Belgian post-punk band currently residing in Brussels. Feeding on the dynamics of the city, their music unveils feelings of alienation, propelled by an urging and ominous sound. Their debut album ‘Image’ was released on October 19, 2018.

They’ve just shared  their single ‘Surface’. The five-piece have a devoted cult following, with their brooding songwriting taking that 79-82 sound into a fresh era. Bold, dark, and immersive, Whispering Sons return with a new single, one that taps into those winter energies.

Divus Julius presents: SkegSs

Skegss the Byron Bay three piece have taken the world by storm (Australia & America only). Skegss have developed a cult following and a culture and movement that fans have related to and turned out in numbers to with sold out shows in Australia, San Diego, New York & Brooklyn.

With their new album ‘Rehearsal’ arriving on 26th March via Loma Vista Recordings, Aussie punks Skeggs are sharing first single ‘Valhalla’

Divus Julius presents: Magic Wands

Magic Wands are Chris and Dexy Valentine. Influenced by British and European new wave, post punk and 80’s pop music with a futurist flare, the couple formed the band in 2011, first linking up through Myspace while living on opposite sides (in Los Angeles and Nashville).

In the past few years, LA dreampop / lovewave duo Magi Wands released two albums – ‘Abrakadabra’ and ‘Aloha Moon19’. Last year they presented their fourth long-play‘ILLUMINATE’– a collection of songs they produced, mixed and recorded themselves in their home studio over the past six months. This inspiration for this album lies in introspection, escapism, fantasy, love and dreamscape scenarios.

Divus Julius presents: Frànçois & The Atlas Mountains

François Marry, the singer, songwriter and leader of Frànçois & the Atlas Mountains, likes travelling and so does his music. A lot of different influences can be heard in the songs that he has been creating since the early 2000s: the French ‘chanson’ tradition, African rhythms, oriental spices, sophisticated pop, avant-garde experimentations and funky grooves.

Born and raised in Saintes, on the West coast of France, François moved to Bristol in 2003 and stayed there for six years. While he was living in England, he started releasing his own music and became a touring member of Camera Obscura. He soon decided to form Frànçois & The Atlas Mountains and the band released their first album in 2006.

“Coucou” is the first new release from Frànçois & The Atlas Mountains since their 2017 album Solide Mirage.  Banane Bleue album will be released 26 February 2021.

Divus Julius presents: WizTheMc

Raised in Germany, based in Toronto WizTheMc has a new vision for rap. He started gaining attention with singles “Do What I Want” and “On My Mind,” which showcased his youthful attitude and his ability to hop on instrumentals you wouldn’t typically hear rappers perform over. WizTheMc signed to 10K Projects/Homemade Projects last year and his label debut “For A Minute” established him as a unique and versatile emcee. Following the release of his October EP ‘What About Now’, rising singer and rapper WizTheMc is sharing the video for easy-going anthem ‘All My Friends Are Stoned’.